One Man’s Trash

Last summer I got rid of my riding mower, which I bought used, and it came with a little cart.  I might have used the cart 5 or 6 times over the same number of years, mostly it sat and rusted quietly in the backyard, filling up with leaves and rainwater.  This year my intention was to drag it to the curb and hope the local trash-pickers would take it away, but Mrs. Pupster thought it might sell on Ebay.  She was right. 

Cart Fur Sail

She listed as pickup only, took lots of pictures, and was completely honest in her listing.  Rusty, needs two new tires, full of debris.  People wanted this cart.  The auction was being bookmarked and watched.  I was amazed.  We started the auction at $1.00.  The winning bidder paid $53.00, and immediately sent payment via Pay-pal.  When he called for pickup directions, Mrs. Pupster asked what area of town he was coming from.  Dover, Delaware he replied. 

506 Miles, 8hrs 31min

 Dude.  You spent $50 + dollars for a trash cart, and are willing to drive 8hrs, 31min, 500+ miles to come and get it?  People are maniacs.  Dude came and picked it up this morning, I was worried that he would suffer buyer’s remorse when he arrived.  Nope, it was just what he was looking for.  We loaded it in his pick-up, shook hands and off he went.  Ebay rocks. 

5 Responses to One Man’s Trash

  1. lauraw says:

    I wonder how much that cart actually cost him. Pickup truck? What kind? You gotta figure it gets 15-20 mpg, tops.

  2. Pupster says:

    The way I figure it, he’s got:
    $53 cart
    250 gas
    80 new wheels

    $383 not counting time

    For something I would have given away. Huh.

  3. skinbad says:

    So where am I supposed to sleep the NEXT time I come to visit? Thanks a lot, pal.

  4. Dave in Texas says:

    Can you carry a dead hobo in it?

    I might have spent that.

Leave a Reply

