The Clothes Make the Dog

does this jacket match no pants? 

I really, really hate to shop for clothes.  I’m about to embark on a journey to the men’s department, I need to buy a sport jacket for a business trip.  I have a suit…you’ve seen it, but it doesn’t travel well and the event is in Florida.  The event is business casual, but there will be a semi-formal dinner which will require a jacket. 

 I typically wear black or khaki slacks, so I’m leaning toward a navy-blue or gray sport jacket.  I’ve spent the last hour or so trying to get on-line color coordination advice from internet strangers.  I’m pretty much back to where I started, I’ll have to ask the clerk for advice on colors.  Teh internets have failed me this time.  I’m off into meat world to throw myself on the tender mercies of menswear salesmen on commission.   

**UPDATE**

Mission accomplished.  Went to 4 different stores and was studiously ignored by all clothing sales-persons.  I guess there is some sort of Abe Lincoln/George Washington Day sale going on.  I found what I needed off the rack and got the hell out. 

6 Responses to The Clothes Make the Dog

  1. gamefreek says:

    It’s about time you went shopping.

  2. prettysleepy says:

    I can’t believe you’d go to Florida without me!

  3. Pupster says:

    *does a little going to Florida dance*

  4. skinbad says:

    Well, I’m late to the party and know little about fashion. But that’s not enough reason for me to spare you some advice. I have to wear a jacket on Sundays for the next few years. I’ve got a dark suit and then I have a dark blue sport coat. I can wear that with tan and gray pants. I’ve been thinking for variety’s sake that one of those tan, camel hair type jackets would give me good flexibility for wearing dark pants with it. So that’s on “the list.” Have fun in Florida and keep your wife happy.

  5. Lipstick says:

    Good advice, Skinbad. We’ve been seeing a lot of the dark jacket/khaki pants thing, but you just reminded me about how good a dark blue sport coat and gray pants look.

  6. skinbad says:

    I almost said “slacks” but figured I might get flamed for it. If Lipstick sticks with “pants,” I feel I made the right call.

Leave a Reply

