Stupid Crap Keeps Happening to Me

What the HELL JUST HAPPENED?Today I fell propelled myself out of my office chair and into a backwards screaming heap on the floor. 

My 3/4 length winter coat was draped over the back of my chair, and when I pushed off with my feet to roll backwards toward my office printer (a signature move I’ve perfected over the last few months) the coat went under the wheels. 

I don’t know the exact physics behind it, but the chair came to a dead stop and the back was pulled down by the coat, my weight and momentum.

hard push x rolling chair + long coat = down goes Pupster

 

16 Responses to Stupid Crap Keeps Happening to Me

  1. The physics is complex.

    But the moment when you are falling – irrevocably committed, but only about half-way to the floor – and you realize you’ve done this to yourself, is a moment of exquisite doofosity, isn’t it?

    It’s one of Life’s “Aw, shit!”moments.

  2. skinbad says:

    DOWN GOES PUPSTER!
    DOWN GOES PUPSTER!

    I hope you did a stuntman roll and popped to your feet with an “I meant to do that” attitude.

  3. Pupster says:

    Nah…I cried-out like a cross between Goofy (falling off a cliff) and Meg Ryan faking an orgasm.

    Landed flat on my back with my legs in the air…also like Meg Ryan.

  4. skinbad says:

    GLAR
    (g=”grinning”)

  5. Meg Ryan says:

    Harsh.

  6. nicedeb says:

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAH……

    I mean….I’m sorry, I glad you didn’t hurt yourself.

  7. pajama momma says:

    Am I a bad person because I would have laughed, not because it was you, but because that sounds really flippin funny?

    I mean I would have helped you up after I wiped my tears and blew my nose. I’m not that heartless, sheesh.

  8. Pupster says:

    Nah…it was funny. There was about half a second after impact where I must have looked like a turtle flipped on it’s back. I felt like it.

  9. Dex says:

    This post is like your own little Voight-Kampff Test…

    WHAT DO YOU MEAN I”M NOT HELPING?

  10. Dave in Texas says:

    All of you who accused me of being clumsy should, uh.

    Ok, nothing I guess.

  11. geoff says:

    All of you who accused me of being clumsy should, uh.

    Don’t think of it as an accusation. Think of it as a diagnosis.

    We’re here to help.

  12. Mr Minority says:

    You’re a moron.

    Cute dog, is that a Sheltie?

  13. skinbad says:

    I’ve got a lead on why your chair tipped. Might not be your fault:

  14. Pupster says:

    I dunno what kind of dog it is Mr. M., I just did a search for “dog office chair” and that picture looked about right for the post.

    I’d like to think “The Force” had something to do with it Skinbad…but I can’t go there. Just physics and my dumb ass.

  15. cranky says:

    Ouch! Hope you’re okay.

    I think there is really an evil cabal of chairs whose goal is to cause us to fall on our ass or back, or even a hump. Obviously, it had nothing to do with your technique and everything to do with standing orders the chairs have to attack.

  16. institutrice says:

    Sorry, had to laugh… This happens to me on a daily basis with my long skirts, only I don’t go flying. 😉
    As for the physics, wouldn’t it be something about friction, or like why you keep moving and get whiplash when you car stops moving suddenly? I can see the drawings on the board, but I didn’t understand Physics in high school and can’t explain it now.

Leave a Reply

