And the Hits Just Keep on Coming

I bought my Sharp 27″ television in 1989, and it has been the cornerstone of my home entertainment system ever since I’ve had a home to entertain.  It was my first major appliance purchase, and I maxed out my one and only credit card to buy it, around $700 if I recall correctly.  

I watched Desert Storm on that TV.  I’ve played Nintendo, Sega, Super Nintendo, Playstation, Nintendo 64,  Playstation 2, Gamecube, X-Box, Wii, and X-Box 360 on it.  I rocked the Pupster boys back to sleep under it’s eerie, late-night glow.  I’ve moved that top heavy, bulky, 100 pound monster into and around 6 different apartments and houses.     

When I turned it on this morning to watch Sports Center before going to work…well, it’s the first time in 18 years that my Sharp TV has let me down.  One, horizontal purple line was all it could give me.  I watched the purple line in disbelief for a while.  I turned my old friend on and off a couple of times.  I even checked the other inputs, maybe it was just the cable?  Nope.  It’s over.  Done.  It was a fine run, but the time has come to say good-bye. 

Dead TV

Rest in Peace, mighty 27″ Sharp TV, you were the best thing I’ve ever bought.  I’m going to miss you.  I love you.  So long, and thanks for everything.  

*bows head*

*moment of silence*

Weeeelp, off to Best Buy! 

4 Responses to And the Hits Just Keep on Coming

  1. skinbad says:

    I don’t in any way want to dissuade an excuse for upgrading at Best Buy, but we bought a TV when we got married and it started losing it a few years ago. I know the campus electronic repair guy (who moonlights doing his own repair business) and had him look at it. He fixed it for about $30. Now forget what I said and go get the 42″ loaded up in your stylish Wrangler. I’m living vicariously through you these days.

  2. Pupster says:

    I consider myself lucky if I get anything more than 5 years out of a piece of electronic equipment. It was a good TV for a long, long time, under almost continuous use in less than ideal conditions. A real trooper.

    The picture tube has been tearing a little for a while, it just finally gave it all the way up today. The audio amp has been a little flaky over the last 2 years too. I don’t know of any TV repair shops around here that will even look at it for less than $75-90 bucks, and I figure there is more than one thing wrong with it. It’s toast.

  3. S. Weasel says:

    I bought mine in ’83. All I could afford was some Chinese off-brand (that was a long time ago, when “Chinese” still meant “crap”). I’m sure I paid over $700 for a 19″ one. But, hey, I was pulling in that crazy part time minimum wage money, so what did I care?

  4. Mr Minority says:

    Pupster,
    1 word 55″ Sony LCD Projection HD TV

    Okay, that was more than 1 word, put what I meant is go out and get yourself a LCD HDTV. You will be glad you did.

Leave a Reply

