PUP My Ride 3 – Fate Takes a Hand, Doubles Down

The vehicle I’ve been pining away for is the most impractical and unprofessional of the group, has the worst reliability rating, and owns the poor resale value category.  I just wanted it, but I could not justify buying it.

Fate stepped in two days ago, when my boss and I were walking to our cars after work.  Someone driving “one of those” was parked next to the building, and my boss asked if I had checked the new ones out. 

When I shared my thoughts he stopped in his tracks, turned and said,”Pupster, it’s your car.  Buy what you want, and screw the rest of that crap.  How much would it cost, outfitted the way you want it?” 

We talked over some numbers right there in the parking lot, and the next day we re-worked my employment contract to make it easier to pull the trigger on a new car.  He’s a good boss.  I’m very lucky.

The last day of the month is the best/worst time to buy a car, dealers want to make their numbers so you can sometimes get a bargain, but the salespersons also ratchet up the pressure to get you to sign before the close of business.  I made my offer, stood firm, and got the price I wanted.  I signed the paper.     Four door freakin Wrangler

Jeep Wrangler Unlimited X

I spent another two blasted hours at the mercy of the dealership today, re-negotiating, haggling over financing, threatening to walk, getting talked back to the table.  I made it through two “let me talk to my manager” moments, and then I waited on this person in finance and that person in detailing until finally, I could drive my Jeep home.

The whole Pupster Family was excited, and I had been looking forward to taking a drive with the top off.  The sky was getting dark when I pulled into my driveway, and the weatherman said strong storms were approaching.  

I started reading the manual, “How to Remove the Soft Top (4 door)”.   Ugh.  Who in the hell writes these things?  The whole process is going to be a blog post in itself, so I’ll just say that Mrs. Pupster herded the Pupster boys back to the house after about step two or three of the process.  I may have lost my cool a little.  The soft top removal section of the manual is 15 pages long.  It’s not easy, folks. 

The fit an finish of the soft-top re-enforced all my preconceived notions of the American car industry.  

Bungee bungee bungee

Undaunted by Detroit, and with a few minor alterations to standard top down procedure, we were on our way. 

I started watching the clouds and estimating soft top reinstall time.  It took me about an hour to demo, and it’s always easier to tear down than to reassemble.  I decided to stick close to the house and just enjoy the open air blowing through the cab. 

A trip to Burger King and a cruise around the neighborhood had never been this awesome.  I’m very, very happy with the new Pupstermobile. 

Gray skys are gonna clear up... 

The Pupster boys immediately set about marking their territory with the fast food tools at hand. There was a minor incident involving a rampaging mosquito, but Pupster boy 1 defended himself admirably with a chicken nugget shaped fly swatter, smashing it into the carpet and grinding it to dust for good measure.  You can never be too careful. 

It could have been worse 

 It really is my Jeep now.  It smells like new car, soft top angst,  and over processed chicken. 

 I’m hoping for sunny skies tomorrow, mostly because my Jeep (I love the way that sounds) fits in the garage, so I haven’t put the top back on yet. 

Home at last 

Thanks for all your feedback, dear readers.  I owe you a ride with the top off.  

Special Hat Tip to Skinbad, who suggested the name “Charlie Wrangler”.   

17 Responses to PUP My Ride 3 – Fate Takes a Hand, Doubles Down

  1. skinbad says:

    I think the color is very cool. Did they throw in the bungee cord? You let your kids eat fast food in a car you bought today?! You sir, are a man’s man. I looked at the website you linked for the Jeep. They had some kind of drain plug in the floor. Just open ’em up and flush the chicken away. Sounds like you went upscale with “carpet” though. You probably couldn’t live withough a “radio” either. Oh well. It sounded like a cool feature. Congratulations. Hope it serves you well and stops reinforcing preconceived notions.

  2. mesablue says:

    Very cool.

    Alternate name: “Big Willy”

  3. geoff says:

    That’s a fine looking machine – congrats.

  4. S. Weasel says:

    You did the right thing. If you don’t love what you drive, you ought to drive something else. That thing looks like a proper Jeep, too. All elbows and knees (not soft and round, like too many SUVs).

  5. Pupster says:

    Thanks guys. I really like the green color too, it just “fits”. I’m a firm believer in breaking in a new vehicle the way you are going to use it, so the fast food in the back seat is the Pupster equivalent of a bottle of champagne across the bow.

    I got up early today and re-installed the soft top, it took about an hour. Rule of thumb: If it makes sense and fits easily, you’re doing it wrong.

    I’ve read Ikea furniture assembly instructions that made more sense than the owner’s manual. Chrysler is ‘tarded.

  6. […] Buys American May 2, 2007 Posted by skinbad in Man Laws, Economics, Travel. trackback Go congratulate him. Or call him a Non-Consumer-Reports-Reading idiot. […]

  7. Enas Yorl says:

    Congrats on the new ride! I really hope you enjoy it.

  8. composmentis says:

    I owe you a ride with the top off.

    We are talking KevlarChicks top, right?

    Congrats on the new ride.

  9. Dave in Texas says:

    So it’s green, is it?

    I hear green is nice.

    Apparently you helped out Chrysler’s numbers this quarter – good lad.

  10. Tushar D says:

    Cool ride, Pupster! I heard that Chrysler has improved their quality a lot after getting munged with the Benz folks. I hope I heard right. I have a 1998 Dodge Grand caravan Minivan, and the transmission sucks. They have improved a lot in last few years though.

  11. […] May 2nd, 2007 The wait is over! The suspense is history. Pupster has finally manned up and made a decision. Check out Pupster’s new car here […]

  12. Frankly says:

    As per a directive from Skinny, I’m here to offer my “Congrats” on the new ride (and the cool boss).

    My first new vehice was a Jeep when I was 18. I loved it, as I’m sure you’ll love yours. Great, FUN vehicles to drive. Never had a softtop (I had a hardtop, but it stayed off 3/4 of the year), but friends that had them wished for a hardtop after a short time – hope you stay happy. I doubt you’ll need to take advantage of the drain plugs in the floors as I did, but you never know, right?

    A few questions: You didn’t mention it, so I doubt it has the diesel. Do they even offer a diesel in this model yet? Do the doors just pop off in 2 seconds like they used to? Can you drop the windshield with 2 big wingnuts like years ago? >>THAT was a fun drive through town (although very illegal, as I found out the hard way).

    Again, congrats & hope you stay happy with her.

  13. Pupster says:

    Thanks again everybody, twice today I’ve had complete strangers come up to me and ask me Jeep questions. I better get to reading the manual.

    Frankly,
    I’m pretty sure there are no diesels in the Jeep product line.

    My observations say that You can still drop the windshield by unscrewing two big plastic handled bolts.

    I’ve got the single piece hard doors from the factory; they can be removed but it takes some tools from what I can see.

    I don’t know how to do this stuff yet…I’m still programming the memory buttons on the radio.

  14. Frankly says:

    Yeah, Jeep has a diesel they call a CRD (common rail diesel), but it looks like it’s not offered in the Wranglers yet – only the Liberty, Grand Cheokee & Commander (who knows? maybe even they’re not available yet).

    Anyway, get off the intertubes & go enjoy that new car smel while it lasts! Oh – I like the green a lot, too.

  15. Russ from Winterset says:

    I still think these Jeeps look un-natural. The Wrangler has a distinctive look, which is destroyed when you stretch it out to a four door model.

    Of course, since you’ve got the little Pupsters to think about, this seems like a good compromise: a four-door SUV that has a removable top.

    Sweet ride, Pupster.

  16. eddiebear says:

    Looks like one of the Autobots. Well played.

    Oh, I like that you are a fan of “The King”.

  17. […] The wait is over! The suspense is history! Pupster has finally manned up and made a decision. Check out Pupster’s new car here […]

Leave a Reply

