PUP My Ride 2 – Still Shopping

Do you have it in Red?I expect to get the run-around while car shopping.  I expect to not find what I want, and to be pressured into buying what they have versus what I’m looking for. I expect to make and take multiple phone calls to the dealerships in a vain effort to not take it up the butt, car-wise.

I test drove a bunch of new cars, and started playing a few salesmen against each other just for fun and to mess with their heads.  I still haven’t decided what to buy, so pretty much any pressure they try to apply just slides right off.   

Too BigI told the Nissan guy after a test drive that the X-Terra wouldn’t fit in my garage next to Mrs. Pupster’s full size van.  (It really does fit, but I told him that she is “parking challenged” and needs lots of room.)  He spent a good 10 minutes trying to talk me into parking in my driveway.  

Nissan Salesman:  “Your not giving me anything to work with here Pupster…how can I get you into this X-Terra today?  I can’t overcome the garage size issue…really, I’m stumped. 

Pupster:  Uh-huh.  It’s a toughy… 

Nissan Salesman:  Seriously, help me out, what can I do to make this deal happen?” 

Pupster:  Dude, it doesn’t fit.  It’s a nice truck, really…I like it.  But I’m going across the street and test drive a RAV 4, the Internets tells me it’s 4 inches narrower.     

Heh.

Plain exhaust pipes?  Nope.I had already built a Toyota RAV4 on-line, so I insisted to the nice Toyota saleslady that I HAD to have an option that I KNEW she didn’t have on the lot.  She spent about 10 minutes trying to convince me that options don’t really matter, what I really, really should do is buy the prettiest color…that she has.

Toyota Saleslady:  This RAV4 has traction control and this is a limited run paint color; “White Pearl”…look how it sparkles!  Women LOVE this color.  It’s sooo much nicer than the plain white.  Why, I’ve had customers turn down a BETTER DEAL on a white RAV 4 for one with the pearlized paint!”

Pupster:  Well, it is REALLY pretty, I’ll grant you that.   But, seriously, I just cannot buy a RAV4 without (chrome exhaust pipe extensions).  It’s a deal breaker.  I’m sorry.  It’s just how I am.  The X-Terra has (chrome exhaust pipe extensions) you know.  Standard.

fugetabouditI’m still shopping around, trying to find the new Pupstermobile.  Right now I’m still undecided on what to buy, and I’m looking at last years gently used models to try and save a few bucks.  It’s harder to mess with the old hands on the used car lot, but they are also typically less high pressure.  Stay tuned.

17 Responses to PUP My Ride 2 – Still Shopping

  1. Elzbth says:

    You are torturing car salesmen (ladies)!
    I love it!
    Do it again.

  2. TattooedIntellectual says:

    Hehehe! Sounds like fun. We were shopping for a new car for my mom last year. There are some issues w/ mobility and such so seat configuration and steering wheel have to fit some pretty tough standards. We ended up settling on the brand new Nissan Versa. VERY nice veh, btw. Anyway, the model had just been released, as in we test drove the first one the dealership had received, and they weren’t taking custom orders for options. Anyway, long story short, we ended up yanking the sales guy around b/c there was no way in hell I was paying for options that we didn’t want or need simply b/c the co wouldn’t allow for custom builds yet.

  3. Pupster says:

    Elzbth, I don’t consider it torture…merely a little payback. In the past when I’ve been car shopping I’ve had an immediate need to buy, and I seemed to emit some sort of pheromone that just gets car salesmen’s nostrils flaring. It’s very different when I can be nonchalant about picking a car. I like it.

    TI, I know what you are saying about the options. The RAV4’s have about ten bazillion different doo-hickeys in different levels of upgrades and trims. I was looking at the top of the line models, but now I’m scaling back and categorizing “must have”,” would be nice”, and “what the heck does that button do?”.

  4. TattooedIntellectual says:

    It’s amazing what they’ll put in a car, and what they’ll charge for it. If you want to look at some odd options, take a walk into your Scion (Toyota) dlrship.

  5. HayZeus says:

    I’m with the queen. That’s pretty f’n hilarious! 😀

  6. skinbad says:

    What do you think of the Murano? I kind of like the look.

  7. Enas Yorl says:

    Have you taken any of these out for a test drive yet?

  8. Pupster says:

    Skinny, I like the Murano, but Mrs. Pupster thinks it’s ugly. Go figure.

    Enas, I test drove a ’07 RAV4 with a V6 engine…it’s a freaking ROCKET! I squeaked the tires out of the dealership parking lot. Whoops.

    I’ve also test driven the FJ cruiser (short supply + high demand = not dealing on the FJ’s) , a ’06 4-Runner (loved it, can’t afford it) , the Nissan X-Terra (like it) , a Jeep Wrangler Unlimited (like it, don’t want to own it for 5 years) , a Honda CRV (liked it) , a Ford Edge (same as the Mazda CX-7,nice car).

    I have a friend who used to sell cars, and he called people like me “strokers”; lots of dirty talk but no happy ending.

  9. kevlarchick says:

    Dude, just buy a car. You’re a stoker and I’m very frustrated right now.

  10. Pupster says:

    Wow KC, if I had a nickle for every time I heard that I’d have a nickle.

  11. Lipstick says:

    Have you considered the Ford Escape?

    It doesn’t have a lot of bells and whistles but I’m very happy with it.

  12. Elzbth says:

    How about the Aztec?
    How about a rebuilt AMC Pacer?

  13. Pupster says:

    I think…maybe…I might have a PUP my ride announcement tonight.

    Possibly.

  14. skinbad says:

    The suspense. She is killing me.

  15. kevlarchick says:

    I’ve been in Lipstick’s Escape. Thank God we had it on that day…

  16. Next project a V8 fiat 126! Great blog

Leave a Reply

