Mr. Pupster Goes to Washington

I took Friday off so I could drive to our nations capital to attend A Gathering of Eagles.  Mapquest said 6+ hours, and 470 some miles.  I left early in a freezing, drizzly rain.  The roads were wet but not icy, and I made good time until I started getting into the serious mountains around Morgantown, WV; then it looked like this:

Die Pupster Die

Just brutal icy slush covered the interstate, with heavy wet snow coming down in seriously big flakes.  I white-knuckled it for the next 200 miles through WV, Maryland and into Virginia.  Just as soon as the snow changed back to rain and the earth became reasonably flat again, I ran right into Washington DC bumper to bumper rush hour gridlock. 

I finally got to my hotel and hooked-up with Harrison for dinner and drinks, which was the highlight of the day. 

I got up early Saturday morning and rode the train to the Foggy Bottom Metro station, (no real point here, I just like to write “Foggy Bottom”), then walked about a mile to Constitution Avenue and the Vietnam Veterans Memorial.  The Wall

The Park Service Police had set up fences to separate the anti-war protesters from the pro-victory forces, and there was a screening station with metal detectors for anyone who wanted to get to The Wall.  The Police did a very good job in my opinion. 

Eagles on one side      

Eagles to the left of me

Hippies...why did it have to be hippies? 

Moonbats to the right

 It was obvious to me that Eagles outnumbered hippies by a wide margin, but every time I saw a news crew, they were following around the anti-war slobs like they were celebrities.  It was really disappointing, but not unexpected.

Nam Knights on the steps of Lincoln Memorial

 More Black Leather than Bike Week in Daytona

I found a spot along the fence in front of the Vietnam Memorial, right next to this really huge guy (wearing a ball cap) and across from my favorite sign.But who would take them? 

 Code Pink meets some resistance

 Every Eagle around where I stood kept their cool, I’d guess a thousand or so anti-war protesters walked the gauntlet on Constitution Avenue.  Pinkos

 Moonbats on Parade

I didn’t feel like I made much of a difference, but I’m glad I went. From the WWII memorial

 

 

    

7 Responses to Mr. Pupster Goes to Washington

  1. BrewFan says:

    I’m pretty sure I’d have to at least hurl angry insults at the moonbats. But I’m a little short on objectivity when it comes to this subject. I’m proud of you guys for keeping your cool.

    Did you have time to do any sightseeing?

  2. Pupster says:

    Oh, there were insults hurled and slogans chanted and heated exchanges of opinion, but no fisticuffs.

    Trying to find my way around Arlington was pretty much impossible, so I was an unintentional tourist for a few hours on Friday. I saw Arlington National Cemetery, The Pentagon, and Crystal City while trying to find my hotel.

    On Saturday morning before the moonbats got rolling, I walked around the mall and saw The Lincoln Monument, WWII Memorial, Korean War Memorial, and The Washington Monument.

  3. Robbie says:

    Don’t sell your contributions short — you did indeed make a difference.

    I wanted so badly to join my veteran and biker brethern there on Saturday. But, alas, Austin is along way from D.C.

    I instead spent Saturday visting the hallowed grounds of the Central Texas Veterans Cemetery outside of Ft. Hood.

    If you don’t think you made much of a difference, let this old Veteran tell you different, and thank you for being there to stand for those who stood for us!

  4. Pupster says:

    Thanks Robbie. Your boys did good.

  5. daveintexas says:

    There are so many things in DC that every American should see at least once in their lifetime.

    I’ve been fortunate enough to have been there many times.

  6. Pupster says:

    I’m going back with the whole family, after I get a freakin’ GPS for the car.

    We’ll be staying at “The Harrison”.

Leave a Reply

