Eragon – Movie Review

It’s bad. 

Eragon is a total rip off of the original Star Wars story, with even worse dialog.  Add in the blurry combat sequences and unfathomable fantasy world of The Lord of the Rings movies, then sprinkle some salt on the scenery for Jeremy Irons.

The story is compressed and disjointed, the dialog is campy and trite, the characters are not developed to the point where you care about them, and are completely overwhelmed by the special effects, which are good. 

It’s not the worst movie I’ve ever seen, but even though the story needed more development to make sense, I could not wait for it to be over. 

 wienie roast

1 out of 5 bones, only because the dragon was cool.

7 Responses to Eragon – Movie Review

  1. S. Weasel says:

    I expected as much. The dragon looked like that dragon from…ummm…that British dragon film a few years ago (okay film, neat dragons). The rest looked like a sword-and-sorcery knockoff from people who don’t actually like sword-and-sorcery but are working hard and cluelessly to appeal to people who do.

  2. skinbad says:

    So what did your kids think? Sometimes I think mine are pretty good at judging suckitude in movies and sometimes I think they would be happy watching anything, because, hell, they got popcorn. I don’t want to take them to see it because everything I’ve read about it is bad, but I feel scroogy telling them “sorry, I heard it blows.”

  3. Pupster says:

    We didn’t take the kids; they went with Grandma to “Unaccompanied Minors”, which they liked.

    We tend to pre-screen movies PG and up, and Eragon has violence and death (but no gory stuff) and a scary bad guy black magician, who kidnaps and tortures a princess and sends assassins out to kill Eragon, and some of the main characters die violently.

    I overheard some pre-teens and teenagers leaving the movie, who thought it was like, totally awesome, man. I didn’t like it because it was so transparently ripping off Star Wars, and it jumped around so much it didn’t make sense.

    It’s visually entertaining and epic, the dragons are cool, but don’t go if you hate campy dialog, or if you like your movies to flow nicely. It is really choppy; the timeline does not make sense.

    Your mileage may vary.

  4. anna says:

    omg how can you say that Eragon was sooo..good.

    I luved it

  5. ALex says:

    eragon the book was excellent, however, the movie is one of the worst things i have ever seen. I couldnt wait for this thing to end. I can see how people who havn’t read the book think I am over reacting or even have liked the movie but the scriptwriter tore apart the original plot and destroyed the characters.
    A few of the major differences in the book and movie:
    – in the book saphira has bat-like wings, not lame eagle-type wings
    – in the book Galbatorix never has dialog or is seen in the book
    – in the book there are only 2 razaq in the book, and they aren’t killed
    – in the book eragon doesn’t get zaroc (his sword) until Brom dies
    – urgles from the book have horns, are 8 feet tall, and hardly look like humans
    – in the book the elf recover from the poison until they get to the Varden
    – they travel through the desert for weeks in the book
    – there are dwarves in the book
    – the varden’s city is huge and majestic in the book, not some crummy cave village thing
    – eragon isn’t gay in the book

    thats just a few of the things this movie decided to change/take out of the movie. Some of the things they altered play a major role in the second book, and I dont see how they will be able to pull off a sequel.
    now put in the bad acting, lines, etc…To say the least, I am seriously disappointed by this movie.

  6. Danny says:

    The book was incredible, I finished the last 100 pages last night, it took me a few days to read it, only cuz im not much of a reader.

    The book has some gross scenes, and sometimes, I can not stand the sight of blood. Head chopped off, stabbed, arrow between the eyes, well it is pretty much endless. My Dad is aching me to see the movie, and I kinda don’t but I do… because it would give me a better understanding of what other people think the characters/places looked like. After reading the book I can turn my head at the bad parts, but still. Ya know?

    From what I heard, it is terrible

  7. Peter says:

    Why the hell did they romoved some much scence from the film (the twins,Katrina,the blessing and so much more). I read the book and i watched it… and it’s shit… like Alex said the difrences are many and the director it’s crapy…sooo…label”DON’T WATCH THIS IT’S CRAP”.
    + the dragon grows…doesn’t go in the sky i BOOM here is your big dragon sir!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

