Sometimes Nothing is a Real Cool Hand

Cool Hand Luke was on AMC tonight.  I tried to find my favorite scene on the intertubes, but all I could find was the car wash scene  (NSFW) and the “failure to communicate” bit.

The scene I like best is Luke daring God to show himself.

[Discussing God and the rain]
Luke: Let him go. Bam, Bam.
Dragline: Knock it off, Luke. You can’t talk about Him that way.
Luke: Are you still believin’ in that big bearded Boss up there? You think he’s watchin’ us?
Dragline: Get in here. Ain’t ya scared? Ain’t ya scared of dyin’?
Luke: Dyin’? Boy, he can have this little life any time he wants to. Do ya hear that? Are ya hearin’ it? Come on. You’re welcome to it, ol’ timer. Let me know you’re up there. Come on. Love me, hate me, kill me, anything. Just let me know it.
[He looks around]
Luke: I’m just standin’ in the rain talkin’ to myself. 
 

One of my professors loved to use Cool Hand Luke in his lectures, and he used the above scene to talk about communication.  Tell the people who are doing a good job that you notice their efforts.  Tell the people who are not doing a good job how they can improve.  “Love me, hate me, kill me, anything, just let me know it!”

Human beings crave comments feedback.  Silent approval sounds the same as quiet contempt.  

Here are some more scenes from the movie, set to Beck.

4 Responses to Sometimes Nothing is a Real Cool Hand

  1. skinbad says:

    I got yer feedback right heah.

  2. pupster says:

    Hey skinny,
    I’d like to axe you a question, could you send me an email?

    pupstersez at yahoo dot com

    Thanks,
    Pup

  3. composmentis says:

    There are so many times when you or someone else leaves a really great comment, some that make me laugh out loud, and I feel like I should comment on the comment, but I figure that could get out of hand and make me look like a butt kisser. So figure it’s better to let people know you appreciate them at random times, just so they know. You know? 🙂

  4. Pupster says:

    Yeah, I know what you mean compos. How many times can you type “lol” without feeling like a moron?
    I’ve sent emails to Ace, Jeff Goldstein, lauraw and Michael just to let them know how much I enjoy their writing. I didn’t want to just write “good post” after seeing so many other comments which were witty and insightful.
    To my surprise, all of those “butt kissing” emails were replied to with basically the same thought…”I really appreciate you telling me you like my stuff, I don’t hear it very often…”
    You believe that shit? Here are these mega talented thousands of hits a day bloggers and little old stupid ass pupster can make them feel good with a “good job” email.
    Everyone craves feedback.

Leave a Reply

