Weekend in the Woods

Mrs. Pupster and I took the Pupster Boys for a few days R&R in the Hocking Hills region of South-Eastern Ohio last week.  We stayed in a cabin at Lake Hope State Park,one of our favorite places, and where I asked Mrs. Pupster to marry me 15 years ago.  (She said yes, yes, a thousand times hey look a squirrel !)

Pup and Boy 1 practice saying "ahyep"
Pup and Boy 1 practice saying ‘ah-yep’

I spent the first evening teaching the boys about knife safety, and we whittled sticks for roasting hot dogs and marshmallows over the fire.  I showed them how to make a campfire, and after campfire food I let them play around with the fire for the first time ever.  Big Fun. 

Fire kills germs.  Google it.
Fire kills germs. Google it.

The next day we drove to Ash Cave, and took a little day-hike around it.  The water was too low for the waterfall to be flowing,  but the rocks and trees were just beautiful to see and touch. 

Kings of the Cave
Kings of the Cave

I was really proud of the boys, they don’t like nature walks at all, but they know it makes me happy when we get in the woods together, so they stuck with it and did great. 

Hike-Hug
Hike-Hug
8 Responses to Weekend in the Woods

  1. skinbad says:

    You look like you’re ready to spit a sunflower seed. Sounds like a fun time.

  2. Pupster says:

    Thanks Skinbad.

    It was big fun. I never really considered signing the boys up for Cub/Boy Scouts, but now I realize how much I learned when I did all that stuff in my yoot.

  3. skinbad says:

    WP would have second thoughts about his ability to kill you. So you’ve got that going for you. Which is nice.

    I’m trying not to be jealous.

  4. Lipstick says:

    Those boys look old enough for at least a BB gun.

  5. Pupster says:

    Lipstick,
    I got them bbguns 2 Christmases ago. They didn’t care for them.

    http://pupster.wordpress.com/2006/12/26/best-present-ever/

    VIDEO GAMES ARE RUININ ‘MERICA!

  6. skinbad says:

    You handled him just right. You should be an H.R. dude.

  7. Pupster says:

    I dunno, it was kind of flattering to think I was the only one who he would hesitate to strike with a blade or blunt object, until he admitted he just pulled my name out of his drunken ass.

    I personally wouldn’t hurt a fly, I just play at being a tough guy on the intertubes.

    My ‘scowl’ that I typically wear is just window dressing.

  8. S. Weasel says:

    You just gotta make it interesting. My mother and I used to shoot for the dishes. You know – shoot BB’s at a Coke can in a tree and the low scorer does the dishes.

    I grew up in the woods. The only thing I had to do for a lot of my early teens was walk in the woods. I HATED the freaking woods. Stupid woods.

    Then I grew up and I liked them.

    The end.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

