Throw out your back?

ouchy

Yeah…I’d really like to. 

Three days ago while TYING MY SHOES my back gave out.  Gave in.  Whatever.  I tried to make up a more manly excuse for what happened, but everyone who knows me knows that I don’t mountain climb, spelunk, or play raquetball. 

 I’ve been walking around trying not to tweak it, which makes me look like I have a 2 x 4 rammed up my poop chute. It’s finally starting to loosen up, but the stuff I’m supposed to be doing isn’t getting done and I’m aggravated.

12 Responses to Throw out your back?

  1. skinbad says:

    I feel your pain (bites lip). I get like that two or three times a year. Muscle relaxants at bedtime, mega doses of ibuprofen, and a hot soak if you can find the time. And (sorry) try to walk. That’s my Rx.

    I usually screw it up doing something related to church–playing basketball because the young guys are short a player and call me with their begging, cutting wood for the financially troubled so they won’t freeze during the winter, helping someone move in or out, etc. Then I’m worthless at home for about three weeks. This doesn’t go over well with the spousal unit. Somehow she thinks I should also be helpful at home.

    Get better.

  2. eddiebear says:

    Get better Pupster. My problem is my right shoulder and elbow from too many curveballs and sliders. Now, if I sleep wrong, it hurts like hell.

  3. Pupster says:

    Kind of my point Skinbad and Eddiebear…basketball, chopping wood, baseball injuries = good excuses. Doing something you do every day and hurting yourself, it’s just so…gay. There, I said it.

  4. skinbad says:

    Oh, I’ve also done it leaning out the bathtub reaching for a towel. I have no room to boast.

  5. Mr Minority says:

    That used to happen to me a lot, until my Dr. gave me a sheet of back exersizes. After 3 mth no more problem.

  6. geoff says:

    What a hassle. I’ve been lucky with my back, but the few times I have had a problem, I’ve been miserable.

    But beer is a muscle relaxant, isn’t it?

  7. cranky says:

    Pupster, I’m with ya. Physical therapy twice a week for me now — butt squeezes (kegels for guys?), ice, and some sort of electronic gizmo that stimulates the lower back muscles. I’ve thrown it out by turning my head and hearing a pop — I know I’m screwed then.

    Naproxsyn and flexeril twice a day.

    It sucks. Get better.

  8. Pupster says:

    Thanks guys. I feel better.

    I had no idea how common back problems are until I started walking around with the back pain shuffle, and pretty much every man over 40 who saw me had a story to tell, and lots of sympathy.

  9. Enas Yorl says:

    Get well soon Pupster! I had back problems when I was in high school. They suck big wind.

  10. kevlarchick says:

    There is NOTHING worse than chronic back pain. I feel like an old hag some days.

    Mr Minority email me those exercises, bro.

    Alcohol is a remarkable way to take the edge off the pain. Geoff is right.

  11. eddiebear says:

    I had a somewhat similar moment a week ago after playing fuzzball. I still try to throw a curveball, and my elbow and shoulder ache. Booze works wonder.

  12. Denise Wilson-Krueger says:

    May I please have a copy of those back exercises???

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

