The Cat Came Back

The always erudite Christopher Taylor posted a link to City Rag, where the top fifty cartoons (as voted by 1,000 members of the animation industry in 1994) are linked. 

Here is one of my favorites from 1988, The Cat Came Back.

9 Responses to The Cat Came Back

  1. geoff says:

    Should have won in 1988 for “Animated Short Song Most Likely to Get Stuck in Your Head.” My wife and sang that for years afterward.

  2. geoff says:

    Also nice to see “The Big Snit” on the list – another than stuck with me over the years. “You’re always shaking your eyes!!”

    Does anybody know where to find a copy of an old stop-animation film called something like “Electric Disco Chicken?” This guy brings home his groceries, takes out a chicken from the bag, finds a power cord coming out of the chicken, and then plugs it in. Disco hilarity ensues.

    I can’t find it anywhere on YouTube.

  3. Paul Goodness says:

    geoff, You are probably refering to my brother Robert Goodness’ film “The Electric Disco Chicken” which was shown at the Cannes Film Festival in 1981 and at several other festivals in the United States and Canada. The film was never commercially released and altough it was shown on national television, there are no copies available for purchase. Unfortunately my brother died at the age of 44 in 1992. Some of his other films included “The Garden of Sweet Rememberance” and “The Quinsigamond River”.

    Perhaps you saw Chicken at the Boston Si-Fi convention?

    Best wishes, Paul Goodness

  4. geoff says:

    Perhaps you saw Chicken at the Boston Si-Fi convention?

    Yes, that’s exactly right – at Boskone! I think it was at the Sheraton that year.

    Very sorry to hear about your brother. Was that him in the video?

    It’s a shame that’s not available somehow – it cracks me up 25 years later. It was a brilliantly funny short.

  5. Paul Goodness says:

    Thank you geoff.

    Yes that was Bob Goodness in the film. I agree that it was a classic. It was the first and the best in my opinion. Others tried to copy the idea, but missed the mark. It is interesting as you say that even after 25 years since it was last publicly shown that so many still recall it. Bob had said that the humor probably lay in the fact that someone actually spent the time to make the film. I think it was more than that.

    When he premiered his “Garden of Sweet Rememberances” film at the Boston Film and Vidio it also struck a universal yet individual cord with the viewers. “Bob didn’t make no junk.”

    I am so very glad that you and so many other viewers of his films have continued with your interests in independent visual artists and their works.

    • BRUCE says:

      PAUL,

      HI. I WAS ONE WHOS BEEN TRYING TO FIND E.D.C. FOR 20
      YEARS. I DID CATCH IT BACK AT THE CANNES FILM FESTIVAL
      WHEN I WAS THERE IN 1981 AND ALSO THE TIMES AT
      BOSKONE. THERE IS ONE THING THAT I CAME UPON ON
      YOUTUBE WHICH IS STILL ON THERE ITS CALLED:
      CSIRKE STOP-MOTION. ITS WITH A CHICKEN DANCING
      WITH GOOD MUSIC. PLEASE PASS THIS ON TO THE OTHERS
      ON THIS LIST.

  6. Skip Morris says:

    This is a blast from the past.

    I’m one of the folks who ran the film program at Boskone and I remember ‘The Electric Disco Chicken’ well. We showed it probably from 1982 thru 1985. It was always a challenge technically since it was only available in 8mm and the rest of the program was 16mm (the smaller screen image and lower light level made it hard to see). But audiences loved it and usually clapped-in-time with the music. Bob sometimes dropped the film off; and I remember once driving to Worcester to pick it up.

    I too would love to get a copy on video. It has to be available somewhere. I know at least once in the past year I saw a short few-seconds excerpt on cable. So *someone* has it. (And yes, we still show films at SF conventions in Boston. But only in 35mm or DVD.)

    Paul, I’m very sorry to hear the news about your brother. He was very talented and is a great loss.

  7. Mike Iodice says:

    Hi Paul,

    I’m sorry to hear about your Brother’s passing. I had the privilege of playing synthesizer (Moog Polymoog) Keyboard on Bob’s track Electric Disco Chicken. I have been searching for a copy of this film as well. If the film is still around, I can restore and transfer it to digital format. I’d love to be able to bring it back to life as I’m sure it would be a huge hit on You Tube or wherever you’d like to place it.

    Best Regards,
    Mike Iodice
    Musician

    Please give me a call at:
    603-589-2420
    or my office 781-314-5483

    PS: The Drummers’ name is Joe Maffei from Waltham, MA

  8. […] to the comments on this blog post that seem to be from his brother it's not available anywhere. The Cat Came Back | Pupster Which is too bad because it sounds like something worth […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

